Saint Wilfrid's, Haltwhistle
The present St. Wilfrid’s church in Haltwhistle is the successor to a former church erected in the East end of Haltwhistle in 1865 and dedicated to Holy Cross which became known as St. Wilfrid’s in 1920.
It is probably a forerunner of the current term ‘Cluster parishes’ for in 1982 the parish was joined with Haydon Bridge and has remained ever since.
Due to the swelling congregation the church transferred to the West end of the town and was unique perhaps in the diocese as it moved into the United Reformed Church building in 1991 and so began the sharing of the building by both congregations.
With the depletion of United Reformed Church worshipers the building was purchased for the sole use of the Roman Catholic congregation in July 2010. It continues to retain features of the Reformed Church with the wooden pulpit as central.